Cynthia Williams
A
thread 1/23
Welcome to today's Spoutible CRT thread!

There's anger in the US about Florida's latest effort to whitewash the Black enslavement history in this nation. Let's walk thru some facts about the skills Africans and later, American-born slaves possessed despite the terrors of their enslavement.

1/
08:27 AM - Jul 22, 2023
Cynthia Williams
A
thread 2/23
Before I begin my spouting thread, please know #Spoutible that I wrote and published a book about Black American tech knowledge since the beginning of time thru to 2015. I'm not an expert on everything about this subject, but I know enough to help inform you with correct information.

2/
08:30 AM - Jul 22, 2023
Cynthia Williams
A
thread 3/23
When looking at Black enslavement in America, there are 3 separate periods of enslavement. The Early Colonial period of enslavement. The post-Colonial.Period of Enslavement. The Pre-Civil War period of enslavement. Each period used Black people's knowledge and skills in different ways.

3/
08:33 AM - Jul 22, 2023
Cynthia Williams
A
thread 4/23
In the very early days of the Jamestown Colony when the 1st African slaves were brought to live with the settlers, there was a need for the colony to bring in people with skills such as blacksmithing to sustain life in the new world. Africans have been blacksmiths since 1500 BCE.

4/
08:40 AM - Jul 22, 2023
Cynthia Williams
A
thread 5/23
The Early Jamestown colonists also has another serious problem.

Many of the white settlers didn't know how to grow FOOD.

If you visit Jamestown, VA today, you will hear how the White settlers relied on Native Americans and Black slaves to grow food.

5/
08:45 AM - Jul 22, 2023 (Edited)
Cynthia Williams
A
thread 6/23