Brian Matthew Kim
A
thread 1/14
I was a substitute teacher for about a year after I graduated college. And one day – my favorite day of subbing – I was known as the sub who could do magic. Now, let me clarify one thing: I don’t know how to do magic. #ThreadChallenge
05:31 PM - May 31, 2023
Brian Matthew Kim
A
thread 2/14
It was the day before Thanksgiving break, and I was subbing for a high school Spanish teacher. Most of the students were already checked out. Thankfully all they had to do was complete a few worksheets. After that, I was cool with us hanging out and counting down the clock.
05:32 PM - May 31, 2023
Brian Matthew Kim
A
thread 3/14
First period, I went up in front of the class to introduce myself. My hands were in my pockets when I felt the blue ballpoint pen I always keep on me. I pulled it out and asked the class if they wanted to see a magic trick. The students looked skeptical. I told them I could make the pen disappear.
Brian Matthew Kim
A
thread 4/14
“One… two… three!” And on “three” I exaggeratedly threw the pen over my shoulder, then made a “ta da” gesture. My audience’s reaction? Blank stares. I told them to finish their worksheets and then we could chill. They got to work, and the period ended peacefully.
Brian Matthew Kim
A
thread 5/14
My next period was a break. When third period started, I went up in front of the class to introduce myself. Before I could finish my spiel, one of the students said, “I hear you do magic.” #ThreadChallenge
05:33 PM - May 31, 2023
Brian Matthew Kim
A
thread 6/14
I smiled and asked if they wanted to see a trick. They enthusiastically said yes, so I did the same cheesy routine. Afterward, a few students laughed, but most of them just looked disappointed. They thought I could do REAL magic. I told them to get to work.
Brian Matthew Kim
A
thread 7/14