Jeff McFadden
A
thread 1/20
My name is Jeff and I am a compulsive writer. I don't appear to be able to go many days without writing something. This is a lifelong condition, but I'll leave out most of the story.
But, for the past five years I have been writing in birdland, a tale of ecosystem catastrophe, climate change, donks.
05:15 PM - Jun 18, 2023
Jeff McFadden
A
thread 2/20
I have written, mostly, in thread format. The fact that Spoutible supports this form, and how they execute that, is a factor in my decision to come here.
Over there I have friends who have been with me for a decade or more, plus newer readers.
Now new people, a new path.
05:18 PM - Jun 18, 2023
Jeff McFadden
A
thread 3/20
I write essays. It is usually the case that each spout or other noise is, in my mind, a paragraph.
Here I have 300 character paragraphs, that's good. I'm comfortable with that.
I take a stand regarding the ecosystem catastrophe which is extreme and not widely accepted.
05:20 PM - Jun 18, 2023
Jeff McFadden
A
thread 4/20
I view the ecosystem catastrophe as a catastrophe of excess energy introduced into the system.
The CO2 is a symptom of that energy, but heating is only one symptom of the broad ecosystem collapse.
I do not spend much time talking about specific numbers, measurements -
05:22 PM - Jun 18, 2023
Jeff McFadden
A
thread 5/20
My position is based on the following axiom, if that's quite the right term.
We accept the following as self evident: every measurable subsystem of the global ecosystem is in steep decline.
The atmosphere has too much carbon in various forms and is heating.
Every biome on planet Earth is degrading
05:25 PM - Jun 18, 2023
Jeff McFadden
A
thread 6/20
The oceans are dying the birds are dying the bugs are dying the fresh water is going away the topsoil is going away.
One large portion of the public conversation is screaming about specific details of the overall pattern I just described.
Whales. Or elephants. Or bees. I mean, these things matter.