Dad The Geek
A
thread 1/28
Let’s see if I can actually make a thread. My last one, that I will revisit, was not done correctly. I’m not an IT expert… oh, wait… yes I am.

To set the stage… It was 1999, coastal SC, and my GF and I had just moved back to the area. Her parents were working comedy on a cruise ship in the Bahamas.
08:53 PM - Jul 30, 2023
Dad The Geek
A
thread 2/28
We had moved from SC to CA to FL and back to SC in the span of 2 years.

It was an fun time, before cell phones and navigation. Paper maps and a lot of “where the hell are we”, but not one single argument. Like… ever.

Trust me, spend 7 days in a car, with 2 cats, and never argue?

That’s true love.
08:57 PM - Jul 30, 2023
Dad The Geek
A
thread 3/28
December in coastal SC was a dead time then. Really no money to make in the service industry. Thankfully we were staying for free at her parents’ house. Her dad was a comedian/karaoke host so he was entertainment on a cruise ship.

Nice life, right? For them and for us.

(To be continued)
09:01 PM - Jul 30, 2023
Dad The Geek
A
thread 4/28
It was December 23, and I was battling a bad chest cold and laryngitis. I wanted to stay home but she insisted on going out. She didn’t have a job yet, but I did because I transferred within a chain restaurant system.

Of course I acquiesced, against my better judgement. It was after 10 PM by then.
10:31 PM - Jul 31, 2023
Dad The Geek
A
thread 5/28
We went to a usual spot that a friend of ours managed. His name was Paul and we had all worked together a couple years before at the restaurant where I met my wife. When I say every guy in that restaurant wanted to date her, I’m not lying. Even Paul, who has been married at the time, went after her.
10:33 PM - Jul 31, 2023
Dad The Geek
A
thread 6/28
I just happened to be the guy to do the right things that got her to fall in love. I was hated for that, but whatever… We were happy, and definitely madly in love. (I’m getting off track, aren’t I?)