JonCooper
A
Were you personally ever the victim of racism, homophobia, anti-Semitism or any other form of bigotry?
09:26 AM - Feb 22, 2023
Tracy Aug
A
In response to JonCooper.
Unfortunately, yes
01:46 PM - Feb 28, 2023
Heidi Jon Schmidt
A
You bet. Evicted, fired. That was for being gay. For being a woman: assaulted, groped, denigrated, laughed at, shouted down.
08:18 AM - Feb 27, 2023
Clarke
A
Nope. But in the 1970's while hitchhiking in my Army uniform I had someone throw a half full beer bottle at me. Kind of felt the same.
05:52 PM - Feb 24, 2023
Dre B.
A
I'm a proud vet but the 1st time I was called Ni&&er was in the military. I was stationed at Ft. Bragg the home of the Mighty 82nd Airborne. It was an eye-opener because being Airborne I thought I was surrounded by my brothers-in-arms. But I learned that racism trumps patriotism and brotherhood.
08:12 PM - Feb 23, 2023
Zed Brown
A
In a word, yes.
11:21 PM - Feb 22, 2023
jax
A
When I was in second grade, I was spat on and called a "dirty Jew" by a classmate. It was my first real exposure to anti-semitism.
02:00 PM - Feb 22, 2023
Maxine Kerr
A
Many times, racism is more covert than overt, therefore you sometimes do not see it you just have instincts that allows you to know it exist and you have been a victim of it.
12:31 PM - Feb 22, 2023
Janet Howe
A
I think every woman has experienced bigotry from men, and, sadly, from other women who have grown up believing that they are inferior and internalizing hatred of themselves and other women. Unfortunately, this experience doesn’t always lead us to recognize our own intolerance towards others.
12:23 PM - Feb 22, 2023 (Edited)
Shawn Scott
A
Not victim but experience seeing my BIL victimized. My eldest sibling was married to a black man for 40 years in North Tulsa. I’ve had a scary goblin old white man grab me away from my BIL when I was a kid when I was with him at the store asking me if this “n” was abusing me. NO MF BUT YOU ARE!!
10:43 AM - Feb 22, 2023 (Edited)