Emily Provenzano
A
thread 1/13
I started writing spouts about the horrid decisions by SCOTUS yesterday several times, and deleted them all. What could I say that added to the conversation? I still haven't figured that out, but it feels important to say that I vehemently oppose the discrimination the conservative "justices"
07:48 AM - Jul 01, 2023
Emily Provenzano
A
thread 2/13
Codified into law. The fact that the web designer didn't even have LGBTQ+ clients and just wanted clearance to discriminate is absolutely terrifying. I'm bisexual in a het marriage, so I can pass for now. Phew! Relief, right? Not at all, because I'm a student of history, and I know where
07:55 AM - Jul 01, 2023
Emily Provenzano
A
thread 3/13
Codified discrimination leads. My mother came out in 1980 and I grew up in the Reagan years. The hate and discrimination against LGBTQ+ people leads to violence, systemically, physically, and emotionally. So that particular decision yesterday hit hard.
07:59 AM - Jul 01, 2023
Emily Provenzano
A
thread 4/13
The decision that ended affirmative action hit me just as hard, but in a different way. I am an educator, a reformed Latin teacher, as I say in my bio. I taught for over a decade in a magnet school in a Title 1 district. Our school was created as part of a CT SCOTUS decision called Scheff v. O'Neill
08:01 AM - Jul 01, 2023
Emily Provenzano
A
thread 5/13
The Scheff case was brought by families in Hartford, CT who claimed their children were not receiving an equal education to their white peers in the suburbs because of the racial and socioeconomic isolation of students living in Hartford. Hartford schools receive less funding than suburban schools
08:03 AM - Jul 01, 2023
Emily Provenzano
A
thread 6/13