Read aBannedBook
A
Do you have a favorite cookbook?

TBH, I'm not a cookbook user, but I still love them. I worked at an academic library that had an incredible cookbook collection. One director did not understand their value for research and wanted to get rid of them. She was not exactly beloved across the campus.
07:23 PM - Jan 04, 2024
Pamela
A
In response to Read aBannedBook.
My “go to” cookbooks. Both are well loved. (For the photo I just taped the cover back on the Survival cookbook 😄)
I inherited the Betty Crocker cookbook from my mom. She also bought me the Survival cookbook when I graduated from undergrad.
09:19 PM - Jan 04, 2024
Karen Dykstra
A
I have the Better Homes and Garden New Edition copyrighted 1981.
09:15 PM - Jan 04, 2024
MJB
A
I like the ones that church and community groups put together for fundraisers. The members contribute their favorite recipes. You can find some authentic ethnic recipes in these books, depending on what group puts it out. I've found a good selection of these books in my local used bookstore.
08:57 PM - Jan 04, 2024
Linda Eisenstein
A
In response to MJB.
We have not one but 2 copies of the Slovak Ladies Association cookbook put out by the Slovak Catholic League that ran my grandma's nursing home. There are recipes close to hers that I've never seen anywhere else.
09:31 PM - Jan 04, 2024
Craig Tyler
A
We have some favorites, the ones our parents used. They’re classics. In alphabetical order: Betty Crocker New Cookbook, Better Homes & Gardens New Cookbook, The Fannie Farmer Cookbook, and The Joy of Cooking. You can find them in used bookstores and estate sales. Ours are from the 1990s.
08:53 PM - Jan 04, 2024
Linda Eisenstein
A
In response to Craig Tyler.
My mom had all 4 of these.
08:56 PM - Jan 04, 2024
Craig Tyler
A
In response to Craig Tyler.
Oh, and we were both born & raised meat & potatoes Midwesterners.
09:00 PM - Jan 04, 2024
Diana
A